Department of Geology was established in 1968 in Tri-Chandra College conducting classes of B. Sc. in Geology under Tribhuvan University. M. Sc. in Geology was started from 1976. Central Department of Geology was established in 1986 at Kirtipur Central Campus.

Then the number of students enrolled was limited. Till now, CDG has produced about 500 (486 between 1989 and 2011) students. The data between 1989 and 2011 exhibits fluctuating trends of the number of students registered in CDG.

Of this figure, about 40 percent have been working in Department of Mines and Geology, and the rest in the other field areas.